About Us

TamilStudiesUK is a learned society established in the UK with the vision to reinstate Tamil Studies at SOAS, University of London.

In 2017, former Deputy Director of the SOAS South Asia Institute, Dr Navtej Purewal requested the support of the High Commission of India, London, for the wider campaign to reinstate the study of Tamil within the Languages Department at SOAS in order to address the growing demand for Tamil Studies at SOAS.

Towards the end of 2017, a founding committee was set up. The intention was to identify a UK University (among Oxford, Cambridge and University of London) where the campaign for Tamil Studies could be launched. The vision is for the Tamil language to be taught within a Languages Department. This would enable dedicated staff to work on standardising the syllabus for Tamil schools, to lobby for further recognition of the Tamil language, and to monitor the quality of such programmes.

After two months of studies and consultation with the experts, the committee chose to partner with SOAS by considering its heritage, its vast Tamil manuscripts and rare books collection, its location being in Central London which is easily accessible to the 200,000 Tamil people living in and around London, proximity to British Library, and most importantly it fulfils all the criteria established in the selection process.

Our Patrons

Armoogum Parsuramen
Former Director and Representative of UNESCO and Former Minister of Education, Arts, and Science, Mauritius

Prof Edward Simpson
Director, South Asia Institute, SOAS University of London

Executive Committee

Selin George (President)

A.K.Rajeshkumar (Vice President)

Suntharam Sri (Public Relations)

Siva Pillai

Shivaleelan Sivanesan
Shivaleelan S. (Secretary)

Amirthalingam Wimalathasan
Wimalathasan A. (Vice Secretary)

Waran Kangeyan

Tharmendiran (Treasurer)

Ponnammal F.J. (Joint Treasurer)

Sivananthy Ganesarayan
Sivananthy Ganesarayan

Campaign Committee

M.T. Selvarajah

Sachithananthan Senthilvel

S Sathyamoorthy

Kasthuri Sivayoganathan

Vasanthakumari Nithyanantha
Vasanthakumari Nithyanantha
(Events Co-ordinator)

Suresh Kumar Renganathan
Suresh Kumar Renganathan

Mathavy Shivaleelan
Mathavy Shivaleelan


Thanikasalam Thayaparan

Kiriththika Sivathas

Meenatchi Gopal

Ranjana Satha

Raji Thiruchelvam
Raji Thiruchelvam

Subram Suresh
Subram Suresh

Shanmugananthan Thayaparan
Shanmugananthan Thayaparan

Global Campaigners


Rameshwaran Ratnasamy
Rameshwaran Ratnasamy (Coordinator)


Siva Pillai (Coordinator)

Ponnammal F.J. (Joint Coordinator)


Suba Nargunan

Palany Suppiah

Middle East

Poet Vidhyasagar


S. Sathishkumar

Youngsters Group

Vaishnavi Ganesarayan (Coordinator)

Policy Group

Ponnammal F.J. (Chair Person)

Shivaleelan S.


Suresh Kumar Renganathan


Selin George

Our Constitution

Our latest constitution can be downloaded from the following link: